Violets is a requiem for the new dark age. A memoir of a dying era, defined by the years of an inevitably dichotomized and isolated nation. On their long-awaited fourth full length, the duo of Greg Malcolm and Chad Mossholder move from the muggy backwoods of their early work towards the sonic approximation of icy remoteness. Created by a process of long distance file-sharing, the layers of Violets mesh together in a synchronous and fragile splendor, melding disembodied vocals, guitar rattles and crispy unpredictability to create a modern classic. The recurring theme of Violets is indeed a fascination with the human voice – voyeuristic telephone and CB conversations, the musings of a girl on dictaphone, crowd noises from anti-war rallies – these elements hover just beneath the lush and temperamental musical surface. On “Endormie”, guitar plucks crystallize in real-time, while the voice of legendary Cranes vocalist Alison Shaw surfaces in frosted gasps. The result is a calming and inescapable melancholic pull. Elsewhere, the massive leitmotif of “Disconnected” evokes images of a lonely neighbor practicing his weathered 6-string in a barren room while explosions overtake his home and psyche. Twine have crafted their most highly polarizing and fully realized record to date. Violets casts a haunting shadow and its many inspirations, from the largesse of world affairs, to the minutiae of domestic life, reinforce its startling relevance in an age of cultural fracture and discontent.

About Twine

Baltimore, Maryland’s Greg Malcolm and Boulder, Colorado’s Chad Mossholder comprise a unique musical entity. Because of their physical distance, their collaboration is held in the virt...check out Twine's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GI-59
  • formats:
  • CD/Digital
  • release date:
  • June 17, 2008
  • artwork by:
  • Doug Coombe
  • Get This Release


3In Through The Devices
5From Memory
10Something Like Eternity
11Theatre [Digital Only Bonus]
License this release


  • Twine - "Violets"