At the heart of Lusine’s 2009 full-length A Certain Distance lies the song “Twilight”, a placid, vocal-led downtempo lullabye. If “Two Dots”, A Certain Distance’s luminous first single, was the album’s knockout blow, “Twilight” is its victory lap—similar in scope and instrumentation but calmer in execution, its gently chugging drum programming and billowing puffs of Rhodes providing a weightless base for Vilja Larjosto’s voice, clear and knowing as ever. “What do you know about the ancients?” / What do you know about the future?” Larjosto intones as the song walks on air, evoking an appropriately thoughtful mood to match the song’s titular half-light.

The digital single of “Twilight” comes with three additional tracks. Lusine’s “Crowded Room (Type A)” reworks A Certain Distance`s dancefloor standout by bringing its ringing synth tones to the forefront and filling the background with eerie vocoded mumblings. Lusine’s own re-edit of “Twilight” (as an “Elliptical Mix”) whips the original into a delirious late-night confection, all bleary textures and four-on-the-floor momentum; while Spectral Sound alumnus Jeff Samuel adds his own techno spin to “Twilight”, spraying a thin mist of Larjosto’s vocals over a field of percolating hi-hats and hand claps.

About Lusine

Jeff McIlwain has been producing his diverse, melodic strain of abstract electronic music as Lusine for a decade-and-a-half. Originally a Texas native, McIlwain moved to the West Coast in the late...check out Lusine's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GI-97
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • February 9, 2010
  • artwork by:
  • Michael Cina
  • Get This Release


2 Crowded Room (Type A)
3Twilight [Elliptical Mix]
4 Twilight (Jeff Samuel Remix)
License this release


  • Lusine - "Twilight"