Various Artists

Spectral Essentials: One

Spectral Sound may be Ghostly’s younger sibling, but its aesthetic is just as finely honed—and its releases sound much better on the dancefloor. Spectral Essentials: One represents artists from Spectral’s early days (James T. Cotton, Hieroglyphic Being, Jeff Samuel) alongside the label’s new guard (Kate Simko, Seth Troxler, Lee Curtiss) for an all-in-one survey of the label’s overarching vision. Highlights include the African-inspired vocal house of Bodycode’s “Imitation Dub”, the ping-pong funk of James T. Cotton’s “Oochie Coo”, the mind-bending tonal curlicues of Audion’s “I Gave You Away”, and many more. Spectral Essentials is just as its name implies: an indispensable compilation of artfully executed dance music, full of style and body-moving substance.

  • Ghostly International
  • GIDG-29
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • December 15, 2009
  • artwork by:
  • Michael Cina
  • Get This Release


1Audion - I Gave You Away
2Bodycode - Imitation Dub
3JTC - Oochie Coo
4Broker/Dealer - Opening Night
5Daso - Meine
6Matthew Dear - It's Over Now
7Hieroglyphic Being - Lost In Translation
8Lee Curtiss - Smoking Mirrors
9Osborne - Fire
10Jeff Samuel - Awt
11Kate Simko - Margie's Groove
12Seth Troxler feat. Matthew Dear - Hurt
License this release