Kate Simko

She Said EP

The scene is set, infrared beams chase you through the night. Your heart pounds.

What could be an action scene of a techno cut, She Said takes you deeper into enemy territory. Kate Simko’s first full release with Spectral Sound brings these moods out in dramatic fashion. The shuddering bass line of the title track bounces off all four walls while traces of Latin percussion keep the tension from brimming over. The metallic nag of the synth swell rises. The alarm has been rung. On the flip, Ryan Elliott makes a rare appearance on wax and with a surgeon’s precision, chills the mood considerably. Elliott’s edit creates a late night version that keeps the original’s insistence while augmenting its depth.

Also on the flip, “Soltera” sees our heroine escape, and housier textures prevail. A warm airy groove, with melody shrapnel like golden bullets pulled from your leg, it finishes the story in a fashion that suits a victory.

About Kate Simko

Women in techno have always been second-guessed. Initial reviews called Kate Simko’s tracks “light”, which made it apparent that they hadn’t listened to them at all. Propul...check out Kate Simko's page and other releases

  • Spectral Sound
  • SPC-57
  • formats:
  • 12"/Digital
  • release date:
  • March 25, 2008
  • artwork by:
  • Michael Cina
  • Get This Release


1She Said
2 She Said (Ryan Elliott Edit)
4Dulce [Digital Only]
License this release


  • Kate Simko