The Of Fire EP is Kill Memory Crash’s first release for Ghostly International since 2005’s American Automatic. On Of Fire, gone are the ambient, cinematic touches and stop-start dynamics that characterized their last record; in their place are tighter synthesizers, sharper serrated percussion, and a terrifyingly direct focus that speaks of the Chicago industrial duo’s new found vigor.

Of Fire has a right-up-in-your ears immediacy that packs a serious low-end punch. “Hell on Wheels”’s locomotive bass stutters a foundation for a cathedral of fuzz-toned guitar stabs and effected vocals. “Slug Song,” meanwhile, combines distorted screams and buzzsaw synthesizers into a chugging disco banger from Hell. Ghostly Swim’s “Hit + Run” begins with a fiendishly syncopated bassline, but quickly detonates in a hail of swooping electronic noise and disaffected vocals.

Kill Memory Crash have discovered the power of individual sounds, broadening their strokes and sharpened their edges until the tracks gleam like fresh-polished steel.

About Kill Memory Crash

For over 10 years, Alex and Adam of Chicago’s Kill Memory Crash have been developing their own blend of dark electronic music, influenced by the decay of modern life. Having started their mu...check out Kill Memory Crash's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GIDG-11
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • November 25, 2008
  • artwork by:
  • Philistine DSGN
  • Get This Release


1Hell on Wheels
3Slug Song
4Hit + Run
5Ever Experienced
License this release