Mistral Moon

Syntaks’ Mistral Moon EP is a free taste of the Danish duo’s full-length Ylajali, comprising two tracks of Syntaks’ densely layered ambient pop. Syntaks’ songs are textural epics in miniature, meticulously detailed shoegaze symphonies built from Anna Cecilia’s wordless vocalizations and Jakob Skott’s breathtaking production. “Sudden Dream” grows from a puddle of Cecilia’s molten coos to a towering climax worthy of M83’s overdriven majesty; “Mistral Moon (Illuminated Version)” presents a slightly sweetened rendition of the Ylajali standout, matching a triumphant melody and heavy-footed beat with distant stutters of distortion and oceans of atmospheric rumblings. To call Syntaks’ music “cinematic” would be an understatement—with the Mistral Moon EP, the experience is as visceral and surreal as a slow-motion sunrise.

About Syntaks

Syntaks’ music evokes an infinitely expanding landscape of papery beats, sighing voices, and hills of sublime noise. In Syntaks’ world, dreams and reality blur into a melodic haze, and...check out Syntaks's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GI-95
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • October 6, 2009
  • Get This Release


1Sudden Dream
2 Mistral Moon (Illuminated Version)
License this release