Ryan Elliott

Kicking Up

Ryan Elliott has long been our not-so-secret weapon; lending his curatorial mastery to the massive Spectral Sound Vol. 3 compilation, megamixing the Spectral Sound Vol. 1 compilation, and of course by representing on turntables the world over. But after a mere handful of remix credits, he charges out of the gates with his first Spectral production, "Kicking Up."

Deep bass and snares hurtle ever forward, assisted by occasional, faint sonic flourishes and a bevy of throwback vocal loops, but is otherwise devoid of sustained melody. If nothing impedes the supercharged, supersexual, super-Detroit momentum of "Kicking Up," the "STABLO No. Remix" dials back the tech and pushes its house to the fore. Shakers, claps, echo and a whole lot of lateral motion imbues Elliott's take-no-prisoners original with a surprising conviviality.

NOTE: The artwork above is the digital version. The 12" will be made available in our Spectral Sound stock sleeve jacket. This includes art labels and a sticker on the jacket.

About Ryan Elliott

“What matters most, above all else, is what comes through the speakers,” says Detroit’s Ryan Elliott. “It must be the right track at the right time, delivered in the right ...check out Ryan Elliott's page and other releases

  • Spectral Sound
  • SPC-106
  • formats:
  • 12"/Digital
  • release date:
  • December 13, 2011
  • artwork by:
  • Will Calcutt
  • Get This Release


1Kicking Up
2 Kicking Up (STABLO No. Remix)
License this release