"Hours" is the first single taken from Tycho's "Dive" full length. "Hours" feels familiar, but with even more production prowess. The synth melodies wash over your face and glide over a steady drum beat and guitar riffs throughout. "Cascade (Live Version)" is taken from 2009's Ghostly Swim compilation. As seamless as his two creative outlets have been (music and as the graphic artist "ISO50"), nearly a decade passed before the release of Hansen's first proper Tycho LP, Sunrise Projector (later expanded and reissued under the title "Past Is Prologue"). And while three striking singles have emerged since then, the sum of all those sepia-toned parts is nowhere near the double-exposed soundscapes of Dive. The product of a prolonged break from IS050's design work and blog, it pays tribute to Tycho's prismatic past (the dense, guitar-guided turning points of "Daydream" and "Adrift") but spends most of its time pointing to the project's not-so-distant future. Dive is available in November of 2011.

About Tycho

As Tycho, Scott Hansen blends swirling melodies into vaguely triumphant arcs that crisscross between stuttering beats and vocal samples, creating rolling sonic landscapes that extend into the hori...check out Tycho's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GI-146
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • August 30, 2011
  • artwork by:
  • ISO50
  • Get This Release


2Cascade [Live Version]
License this release