Elevators And Oscillators

In the wake of his hit Apples & Synthesizers LP, Toronto’s Solvent returns with Elevators And Oscillators. This disc collects of six Solvent originals and seven remixes, some brand new and some culled from the Radio Ga Ga and Think Like Us 12”s. The breadth of remix material here is stunning enough, but Solvent himself steals the show with some of his best material to date, making for an eclectic experience easily on par with the album that bore it.

The classic “My Radio” (originally from the Disco Nouveau compilation) sees a dark interpretation from Legowelt (Clone, Bunker), a squelching reworking by The Mitgang Audio (Suction), and a stunning cover by Schneider TM (Mute, City Slang), who mutates the song into an irresistible indie-rock epic. Alter Ego (Klang Elektronik, Harthouse) weigh in with a storming version of “Think Like Us”, while Lowfish (Suction), ISAN (Morr, Darla), and Ghostly newcomer JDSY test their mettle on mixes of “For You”, offering differing strains of skittering pop, fluttering acid, and bubbling electro.

Master of Ceremonies Solvent raises the ante with four brand new pieces; “Wish” is a gentle lamentation and the centerpiece of the record, while “Devices And Strategies” exercises the quirkier edge of the Solvent sound with a dark, bouncing bass refrain and hiccupping percussion section. “Apples And Oranges” is a hazier, more mysterious piece, and “Elevators And Oscillators” closes the record with subtle grace.

About Solvent

For over a decade, Jason Amm’s work as Solvent has neatly defied categorization. His music is too sweetly melodic for techno or acid, his compositions too fiendishly detailed for synth-pop. ...check out Solvent's page and other releases

  • Ghostly International
  • GI-43
  • formats:
  • CD/Digital
  • release date:
  • April 5, 2005
  • artwork by:
  • Mike Doyle
  • Get This Release


2 My Radio (The Mitgang Audio remix)
3 For You (Lowfish remix)
4Radio Goo Goo
5 My Radio (Legowelt remake)
6 Think Like Us (Alter Ego remix)
8Devices And Strategies
9 For You (ISAN remix)
10Apples And Oranges
11 My Radio (Schneider TM remake)
12 For You (JDSY remix)
13Elevators And Oscillators
License this release


  • Pitchfork
    Review: Elevators and Oscillators
  • Outburn
    Review: Elevators And Oscillators
  • Synthesis
    Review: Elevators And Oscillators