Matthew Dear

Beginning Of The End: The Spectral Sound Singles

Back in 2003, Matthew Dear was a little-known DJ, but a handful of singles on an unkown label changed all that. EP1 and EP2 were some of the first waves of “microhouse” to emerge from American shores and their impact on DJs and producers is truly palpable. One of the true classics of this period, Dog Days was the first single from his Leave Luck To Heaven album and features a killer remix by Perlon’s Pantytec. Spectral Sound presents a compilation of the singles that started it all. The highly influential Irreparably Dented, Stealing Moves, EP1, EP2, Dog Days and Anger Management/Future Never Again are all accounted for here. In celebration, we have released a limited re-press of these 12”s but none of these singles have been released digitally before. Beginning Of The End: The Spectral Sound Singles, which will carry all 19 tracks along with 2 never before released tracks from the EP1/EP2 sessions.

About Matthew Dear

Depending on whom you ask, Matthew Dear is a DJ, a dance-music producer, an experimental pop artist, a bandleader. He co-founded both Ghostly International and its dancefloor offshoot, Spectral So...check out Matthew Dear's page and other releases

  • Spectral Sound
  • SPC-55
  • formats:
  • Digital
  • release date:
  • April 29, 2008
  • artwork by:
  • Will Calcutt
  • Get This Release


1Irreparably Dented
2 Irreparably Dented (David Alvarado Reconstruction)
3Stealing Moves
4 Stealing Moves (John Selway)
5Laguna Madre
8Versus You
11Krist (Ceiling)
12Making Out
13Pinch & Pillage
14Brang D
15Dog Days [Extended]
16 Dog Days (Pantytec interpretation)
17Dog Days [Acappella]
18Anger Management.
19Future Never Again
20Pulpse (2003)
21Killjoy (2003)
License this release


  • Detour
    Review: Beginning of the End: The Spectral Sound Singles
  • Earplug
    Reissue Fever