Ah, the autumn. A season of vibrant colors, fresh breezes, resurgent emotions, and, if you’re in Chicago right now, raging snow. WTFs aside, fall also serves as an ideal backdrop to San Francisco-based guitarist and Ryuichi Sakamoto/Zach Hill collaborator Christopher Willits’ new disc Surf Boundaries, due October 17 via the good apparitions at Ghostly International.

Surf Boundaries features 12 placid cuts—many of them hue-oriented—and includes Willits’ “Colors Shifting”, which recently joined the esteemed ranks of Pitchfork’s Infinite Mixtape. If “lovely,” “serene,” and “dreamy” are among your favorite AMG adjectives, this disc is totally for you, my friend.

Willits aficionados are also encouraged to check out The Right Kind of Nothing by North Valley Subconscious Orchestra, C-dub’s collaboration with man-about-town Brad Laner (Savage Republic, Medicine, Lusk). It’s out now in digital format from Ghostly.

A restless soul, Willits also joins forces on occasion with Hella’s Zach Hill and Miguel Depedro (aka Kid606) to form the improv entity known as Flossin. That trio is presently working on the follow-up to 2004’s Lead Singer with the gentlemen from Matmos and a posse of indie remixers.

Wily Willits takes Surf Boundaries on the road this autumn, treating audiences in San Francisco, Providence, and Baltimore to a dose of serenity, and hitting up NYC for CMJ, FYI. LOL. TTYL.

Surf Boundaries:

01 Clouds Form
02 Colors Shifting
03 Medium Blue
04 Love Wind
05 Orange Lit Spaces
06 Finding Ground
07 Saturn
08 Green and Gold
09 Like Water
10 Dive
11 Yellow Spring
12 The Greatest Rain